For the second consecutive week, Daytona Worldwide Speedway produced a first-timer winner within the NASCAR Cup Collection.

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Christopher Bell earned the glory on the observe’s street course, taking the lead from Joey Logano with two laps to go and pulling away to a snug 2.119-second victory over the 2018 collection champion.

MORE: Highlights from Sunday’s street course race at Daytona

Bell, 26, is the 2017 NASCAR Tenting World Truck Collection champion and that is his second season on the premier stage, his first driving for the championship Gibbs group. His work Sunday, nonetheless, was extra harking back to a veteran. There have been eight warning flags, eight race leaders and an entire lot of motion within the waning laps.

Under is extra about Bell’s win, plus the whole outcomes of Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Elements 253 on the Daytona Street Course.

Who gained the NASCAR race yesterday?

Christopher Bell pulled round Joey Logano within the chicane simply yards earlier than the white flag and simply stretched the result in earn his first profession NASCAR Cup Collection trophy.

“That is undoubtedly one of many highlights of my life to date,” a smiling Bell stated after climbing off the roof of his No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, the place he flashed the No. 1 signal to the grandstands.

Bell’s move for the win capped an thrilling and suspenseful remaining dozen laps. Defending race winner and reigning collection champion Chase Elliott led a race-best 45 laps however was caught up in heavy site visitors after his remaining pit cease with 15 laps remaining. He gained Stage 1 and was working fifth after rallying again to the entrance with six laps to go when he spun out within the infield — a sufferer of a chain-reaction collision within the fender-to-fender racing on the time. He finally got here residence 21st, snapping a four-race street racing victory streak.

NASCAR outcomes at Daytona

Behind Bell and Logano, Bell’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin completed third, adopted by Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski.

Kevin Harvick, A.J. Allmendinger, final week’s Daytona 500 winner Michael McDowell — additionally a first-time winner — Ryan Preece and Alex Bowman rounded out the highest 10. That is simply third time in NASCAR Cup Collection historical past a season has began with two first-time winners, becoming a member of the inaugural seasons of 1949 and 1950.

Along with his maiden win, Bell is now ranked fourth within the NASCAR Cup Collection standings. Hamlin, who gained Stage 2, leads the championship by 12 factors over Logano heading to the Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway subsequent Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET; Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Under are the whole outcomes from Sunday’s race over the Daytona Street Course.

1.Christopher Bell
2.Joey Logano
3.Denny Hamlin
4.Kurt Busch
5.Brad Keselowski
6.Kevin Harvick
7.AJ Allmendinger
8.Michael McDowell
9.Ryan Preece
10.Alex Bowman
11.Chris Buescher
12.Martin Truex Jr.
13.Cole Custer
14.Erik Jones
15.Ryan Blaney
16.Daniel Suarez
17.Aric Almirola
18.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
19.Ty Dillon
20.Ryan Newman
21.Chase Elliott
22.Anthony Alfredo
23.James Davison
24.Justin Haley
25.Cody Ware
26.Bubba Wallace
27.Garrett Smithley
28.Scott Heckert
29.Timmy Hill
30.Kyle Larson
31.Corey LaJoie
32.Chase Briscoe
33.William Byron
34.Austin Dillon
35.Kyle Busch
36.Josh Bilicki
37.Matt DiBenedetto
38.Tyler Reddick
39.Ross Chastain
40.Quin Houff

Holly Cain writes for the NASCAR Wire Service.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here